Turf rooting on Clay - post laying breaking up....

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Tim Shields, Apr 15, 2015.

1. Tim Shields

Tim Shields Gardener

IT Geek
    Ratings:
    +60
    Hi all,

I'm very new to this gardening lark - last I did was helping my mother when I was 10 ... and lets just say that was several decades ago!

I've just moved into a new house and for the first time I have a garden .. so I've just got stuck in. First thing - lawn. There was no grass at all (its a new build) so I thought I'd give it a bash laying some turf and see what happens.

Its 5 days since I laid the turf and I've been watering it a fair bit everyday. The grass looks great - very green (better than when we got the turf) and has grown some. Turf edges starting to look like they are knitting together (when its watered). However, there is no sign of any rooting. My concern is that I didn't break up the (very very hard) clay soil enough before laying the turf and the grass is going to have a right job trying to get some feet down.

Is there anything I can do now to help it? I'm thinking something like getting a fork in there and loosening up the soil (adding in sand?) before watering? I'm assuming that whilst its all looking nice now, its just growing from the soil that was part of the turf and that's not a sustainable situation?

Or maybe I'm just being waaaayyy too impatient in this instant-gratification world we live in and I should just give it a chance before I should start "helping"...

Cheers all,

Tim.

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,889
    Welcome to GC Tim. :)