1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. November Photo Comp is now open with a great new theme.! Come and join in.
    Dismiss Notice

Tv as cctv monitor

Discussion in 'Computer Corner' started by Jiffy, Nov 4, 2018.

  1. Jiffy

    Jiffy The Match is on Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,788
    Occupation:
    Pyro
    Location:
    Retired Right Next To The Bonfire in UK
    Ratings:
    +13,392
    Is there any resson that a tv can't be used as a cctv/computer monitor if it has the same connections which will be HMDI or VGA, i know that you can use mouse with the vga, is HMDI the same? as i'm not sure about the new HMDI stuff (to new for me :snorky:)
     
  2. wiseowl

    wiseowl Friendly Owl Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    33,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Philosophy of people
    Location:
    In an oak tree in The Garden Of England
    Ratings:
    +54,998
    Good evening @Jiffy my friend ,we have 3 TV's we use as CC/Computer TV monitors:smile:
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Scrungee

      Scrungee Well known for it

      Joined:
      Dec 5, 2010
      Messages:
      13,826
      Location:
      Central England on heavy clay soil
      Ratings:
      +22,303
      Yes, or you can feed it into a TV aerial amplification/distribution system, making the signal available to every TV in your house that you tune a channel into it. We find this useful so Dog (in our kitchen) can be watching CCTV covering our front door and we'll hear his barking in our back garden alerting us to a caller at our fron door, oh the wonders of modern technology!
       
      • Like Like x 4
      • Jiffy

        Jiffy The Match is on Fire

        Joined:
        Aug 25, 2011
        Messages:
        6,788
        Occupation:
        Pyro
        Location:
        Retired Right Next To The Bonfire in UK
        Ratings:
        +13,392
        Thank you Woo and Scrungee:dbgrtmb:

        We used to be able to do that but with our old RF Modulator we get less channels on freeview so it was disconected

        The ressond i ask the question is because i was looking at updating the computer screen, so i thought, if i buy a TV with lots of HMDI ports i could have tv, computer and cctv all working in one place, but what i'm not sure on was, can i use computer key broad and mouse on the tv screen through a HMDI port i didn't want to buy tv then find out that i couldn't use the computer as i do now
         
      • Scrungee

        Scrungee Well known for it

        Joined:
        Dec 5, 2010
        Messages:
        13,826
        Location:
        Central England on heavy clay soil
        Ratings:
        +22,303
        Are you using a freeview box ? All our TVs have integral freeview, all individuallly tuned in, plus they also receive whatever we connect into the distribution/amplifier device (such as CCTV, and maybe a bird box cam in the future).

        That sounds familiar, I ended up with such a tangle of devices and cables that I made an A4 circuit diagram of them to help me understand what was going on.
         
      • Jiffy

        Jiffy The Match is on Fire

        Joined:
        Aug 25, 2011
        Messages:
        6,788
        Occupation:
        Pyro
        Location:
        Retired Right Next To The Bonfire in UK
        Ratings:
        +13,392
        The tv's all have freeveiw, no box
         
      • martin-f

        martin-f Plant Hardiness Zone 8b

        Joined:
        Mar 15, 2015
        Messages:
        3,303
        Gender:
        Male
        Location:
        Sheffield
        Ratings:
        +10,119
        Hi Jiffy your keyboard and mouse work through PC its best to use wireless ones TBH, most new smart tv's have the internet anyhow, also screen mirroring is possible depending on your setup, i have various things connected to my tv's including cctv, have a look through a few videos to give you a idea.
        https://www.google.com/search?q=tv+...ob7eAhVJLsAKHUQlDQ0Q_AUIECgD&biw=1366&bih=635
         
        • Informative Informative x 1
        • martin-f

          martin-f Plant Hardiness Zone 8b

          Joined:
          Mar 15, 2015
          Messages:
          3,303
          Gender:
          Male
          Location:
          Sheffield
          Ratings:
          +10,119
          A couple of pictures of my setup no PC/laptop involved both TV's have internet.
          DSC_0141.JPGDSC_0144.JPG
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • Jiffy

            Jiffy The Match is on Fire

            Joined:
            Aug 25, 2011
            Messages:
            6,788
            Occupation:
            Pyro
            Location:
            Retired Right Next To The Bonfire in UK
            Ratings:
            +13,392
            Thanks for that Martin :dbgrtmb:

            I don't think i'll be going wifi as i'm one of them people that don't trust it (ie if i get the settings wrong and every one else can see what i'm doing if you know what i mean ;) )
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • silu

              silu gardening easy...hmmm

              Joined:
              Oct 20, 2010
              Messages:
              3,609
              Gender:
              Female
              Location:
              Igloo
              Ratings:
              +7,816
              Excuse me for asking but just how many of you have CCTV? Do you have it for insurance purposes or is it that the crime rates where you live you are very high? I live in the countryside but did years ago live in both Edinburgh and London. I never have or obviously very fortunately even considered the need to install CCTV.
              Touching wood rapidly I have never experienced a burglary in any of the places I've lived. This might be because we have somewhat lagged behind getting the latest gizmos and indeed until quite recently still had 1 hell of a chunky TV!
              I always thought those who had huge gates installed, signs up saying keep out and CCTV cameras were advertising that they had serious amounts of stuff to steal and consequently were burglarised:snorky: but perhaps nowadays CCTV is seen as a necessity?
               
              • Friendly Friendly x 2
              • Like Like x 1
              • wiseowl

                wiseowl Friendly Owl Admin Staff Member

                Joined:
                Oct 29, 2006
                Messages:
                33,062
                Gender:
                Male
                Occupation:
                Philosophy of people
                Location:
                In an oak tree in The Garden Of England
                Ratings:
                +54,998
                Good morning @silu my friend I have cctv on the front door and path entrance to the door so that Mrs Woo and daughter can see who is at the door when I am out,I also have the entire back garden covered so that we can watch wildlife ie Foxes,hedgehogs,birds because it is much more rewarding than watching TV;):smile:
                 
                • Like Like x 2
                • Agree Agree x 1
                • silu

                  silu gardening easy...hmmm

                  Joined:
                  Oct 20, 2010
                  Messages:
                  3,609
                  Gender:
                  Female
                  Location:
                  Igloo
                  Ratings:
                  +7,816
                  Hello @wiseowl. That makes me feel much better, I would hate to think many GC members are frightened in their own homes. Thank you for letting me know the reasons. CCTV is much more commonplace in England than in Scotland so I was quite surprised to read that some of you have it. Even in the likes of Edinburgh it is not common to see homes with CCTV.
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • Jiffy

                    Jiffy The Match is on Fire

                    Joined:
                    Aug 25, 2011
                    Messages:
                    6,788
                    Occupation:
                    Pyro
                    Location:
                    Retired Right Next To The Bonfire in UK
                    Ratings:
                    +13,392
                    We've got it and we live in very very rural, we had Neighbour of hell for 20 years, then we watch our house being burgled by the human kind not wildlife;)

                    old system for house and got a new system to watch wildlife if new system works ok then (only cost £150 for dvr + 4 2mp camers) i'll buy another to replace old house one
                     
                    • Friendly Friendly x 1
                    • WeeTam

                      WeeTam Total Gardener

                      Joined:
                      Mar 9, 2015
                      Messages:
                      1,710
                      Gender:
                      Male
                      Ratings:
                      +3,467
                      I bought a Yale cctv system 6 months ago.........still in its box 6 months later. Not really needed but ridiculously cheap so in the cupboard with all the other "bargains"

                      Will be fitting it eventually to cover the driveway and front door. Just thinking as I type that my plants in pots are worth a lot more than my car so need protecting.:paladin:
                       
                      • Funny Funny x 2
                      • Like Like x 1
                      • Scrungee

                        Scrungee Well known for it

                        Joined:
                        Dec 5, 2010
                        Messages:
                        13,826
                        Location:
                        Central England on heavy clay soil
                        Ratings:
                        +22,303
                        Also thinking about my camera stuff left in my car being worth than my car.
                         

                      Share This Page