Two projects to get my teeth into - and I'm new to this!

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by John78, May 11, 2008.

1. John78

John78 Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

I've decided to get stuck into doing something with both my front and back gardens.

The front garden is tiny and has no features bar two Boxus and a couple of wheelie bins. The plan is to hide or disguise the wheelie bins. There is a tall wall facing south, a fence facing west, and the front of my house to the west. I'll add a photo sometime soon but it isn't really much to see. Ideally I'd like to train something to grow over an arch or trellace that I can use to hide the bins.

Too add to the fun, the lawn is uneven and patchy in places, so I'm going to need to sort that out too.:eek:

The bigger project is the back garden. So far there is an Acer sitting in a pot in the corner and a Clematis slowly climbing up some chicken wire and heading towards the rear fence and trees.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

A new addition has been a Chilean Potato Tree which has been planted yesterday which should hopefully start climbing the fence in the not too distant future.

The second part of the back garden project is to extend the patio. It's currently 180 x 240cm but I am going to add another 180 cm to the width and add a further 60cm to the length.

I am extending it for two reasons - I currently don't have much room for to fit any furniture on it and I'd like a table there for a spot of al-fresco dining, plus the lawn gets terribly water-logged and grass will not grow there. It currently has a small selection of weeds.

The rest of the lawn is of variable quality, in some places it absolutely thrives, in others it has bald patches. It's mostly waterlogged through-out winter and has only just become dry enough to mow for the first time this year. I think I could do with planting something along the south wall that enjoys the water logged conditions.