Urgent help required, I think I have potato blight - tomatoes are in close proximity!

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Freedom_Spark, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    Hi everyone I'm very worried at the moment, I was convinced by my dad to plant some potatoes in my organic garden this year. Unfortunately he didn't realise that I didn't want any chemicals near my plants & he suggested spraying the potatoes with something called 'dithane' which I briefly read about & it didn't seem suitable! Last night I was showing my friend around the garden &I noticed something strange growing on the potato plant - it looked like three little tomatoes or some kind of fruit:

[​IMG]

Anyway, I went back this morning to take this photo & I noticed that some of the leaves had black large black spots on them, I explained it to dad over the phone & he's sure that it's blight :( I am a complete beginner so I'm completely lost as to what I should do, it looks to have spread between a few of the plants but isn't exactly at epidemic proportions yet, my main worry are my tomato plants, I have about 20-25 in a greenhouse not far away from the potatoes & I would be distraught if they got infected!

I need urgent advice!!!

2. pamsdish

pamsdish Total Gardener

Retired
    "Black Country Wench" in Margam,Port Talbot,Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,445
    check Capneys post ,but if it is ,you have to destroy the lot

3. capney

capney Head Gardener

Retired and glad of it.
    Ratings:
    +1,320
  4. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26