What do I do with all the unwanted junk?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by clare, Mar 1, 2011.

1. clare

clare Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    Basically I'm about to start sorting out this mess of a garden I have. Ideally I want it done for the summer for bbqs, sunbathing and the like.

At the moment I'm not too ambitious about having an award winning garden, I just want somewhere pleasant to sit outside.

Buuuut my gardens really overgrown with weed's and stuff. What do I do with all the weeds? Is there somewhere I'm supposed to take them? I can't even imagine how much there is going to be.

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I've never done anything like this before :what:

2. Alice

Alice Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +81
    [size=medium]Hello Clare and welcome to Gardeners Corner.
    Where do you live ?
    Most Councils run a garden refuse collection system. They provide a wheelie bin and have regular collections for it.
    They also have recycling points where you can take your garden refuse if you can manage that.
    Check with your Council. Our Council is very good and they compost the refuse and we can collect it for free.
    If you have a discreet corner in your garden that you are not anxious to use straight away you could dump some of your grass and stuff there in a heap and let it compost down for next year.
    I hope you manage to get a nice place organised for sitting out this year.
    [/size]

3. Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
    Ratings:
    +14,126
    :thumbsup: Hi Clare, well we all have to start somewhere & most of us didn't know too much when we started & you never stop learning...

If you can take some photos & post them up here so we can see what we are tackling....

My first question is do you know what was there before it became over grown.. Was there a lawn & borders or something..??