1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

What ladders for cutting high hedges?

Discussion in 'Garden Projects and DIY' started by richard6298, Jan 27, 2012.

1. richard6298

richard6298 Gardener

Ratings:
    +6
    Hi. I'm a gardening beginner.

I need to buy a pair of ladders to cut a privet hedge with a pair of hedge trimmers. The height of the top cut will be 2.4m. When my hedge trimmers are at waist height, they are 1.2m above my feet. That means I need to be standing 1.2m above the ground to be cutting the top of the hedge at 2.4m.

The ladder will stand on a lawn with no border for flowers.

Can anyone please recommend the type of ladders I probably ought to be considering?

I'm hoping to buy something in a January sale. Thanks. Rich

2. alex-adam

alex-adam Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,073
    Hello Rich, and welcome to the GC Forum.

You can be sure to get lots of help and advice from our very experienced, knowledgeable and enthusiastic members.

Now, for your question regarding ladders. The Japanese Niwaki Tripod Ladders have a good reputation for hedge work as you can actually place the single leg within the hedge, so you can stand close to the work area.
    I have no experience of these ladders myself, but no doubt one of the oher members will have, and maybe other suggestions.