What's eating my Areca palm?

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by Vegan_Jen, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Vegan_Jen

Vegan_Jen Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,
    I'm new to houseplants and got my first Areca palm a couple of weeks ago. I have noticed a few holes in the leaves like someone very tiny is having a munch. I've been spraying with pyrethrins, but the damage seems to be getting worse. I can't see any bugs on the leaves or stems, there is no sticky reside or webs. But now a few of the leaves (fronds?) have turned yellow and some have turned brown/black! So something is up. When I lay on the floor beneath the plant and look up under the leaves, I can see what appear to be tiny white specks, which I thought at first were holes letting the light through, they don't move or wipe off.

The stems have lots of tiny black spots (don't move and don't wipe off), but I read this was normal for Areca palms (i.e it's not scale).

Any ideas? Spider mites? If the pyrethrins isn't working, what do I try next? Washing up liquid in water spray? My bedroom is normally about 60% humidity, and the palm is situated in front of an open south-facing window, so there's plenty of air flow and it's not getting scorched. I was spritzing it with tap water, but have now switched to rain water after reading it is sensitive to fluoride.

Thanks in advance!

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,101
    Would be nice to see a few pictures, difficult to comment without actually seeing.:)

3. Vegan_Jen

Ratings:
    +0
    I was having trouble getting the white spots/flecks to show up on camera. They're much more visible to the naked eye, but when pictured look like dust orbs.
    You can see the holes in the first picture; *just about* see the white bits in the second picture; and the third picture is the speckled stem (would like a second opinion on that one!).