When is the best time to move blackcurrant bushes?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by RoisinMcGuire, Jul 7, 2024.

1. RoisinMcGuire

RoisinMcGuire Gardener

Ratings:
    +23
    I have a large retaining wall as my front garden which elevates 1m + off the pavement. I have three black currant bushes and gooseberries I grow as my hedge, and silly me didn't think that every person walking by would feel entitled to strip the bushes, leaving nothing for me who bought, waters, and feeds them :)

I honestly wouldn't mind feeding anyone that came to my door hungry, and I also wouldn't mind people taking a few, especially those with kids - I think that's cute. But grown adult couples breaking branches taking fruit that isn't even ripe is grinding my gears.

Do black currant bushes mind being moved? If so, when is the best time to do it? Sadly they're planted quite close together, and I feel it's going to damage roots.

Any advice appreciated! - I'm a very novice gardener, so even if you think it's the obvious - it probably isn't to me - so mention it!

2. Tidemark

Tidemark Gardener

Long retired
    Ratings:
    +651
    They don’t mind being moved if they are asleep. Frost free winter days are the best.

I get no black currants because the pigeons, the squirrels and the badgers help themselves. From three mature bushes I got 1lb of jam this year.

I don’t like netting things, having had some sad experiences with dead birds in the past.

3. RoisinMcGuire

RoisinMcGuire Gardener

Ratings:
    +23
    Would you go for like early winter on this side of December, or next year?

Aw that's a shame. I've never used nets, but wouldn't have even considered birds might be a casualty of them.

4. Tidemark

Tidemark Gardener

Long retired
    Ratings:
    +651
    Any time that the bushes are dormant and the weather is mild and not forecast to be frosty would be fine.

Yes, baby sparrows strangled in netting are not what the gardening programmes show much.

5. Thevictorian