Which Potato Variety do you Like?

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Kristen, Jun 20, 2009.

1. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    I started lifting our Arran Pilot a few weeks ago. They grew much faster than any other varieties I had on the go.

Although we have several Arran Pilot plants left, last night I lifted a Pentlan Javalin as it was clearly ready, to compare the taste. Yuck!

Fell to bits during boiling, very floury, not a patch on Arran Pilot. Going to leave them in the hope they get big enough to bake.

I have some containers (planted very late, hence "behind" my outdoor crop) with Charlotte, Foremost and Maris Peer. I also have second early Smile and Aphrodite (the plants look pretty pathetic compared to the Arran Pilot) and Pink Fir Apple (which look very healthy).

So I will report back on those later ...

I've added International Kidney to next year's wishlist (that is the variety grown for Jersey Royals - but you're only allow to call them that if they are grown on Jersey Natch!)

I realise that soil type contributes to flavour, not to mention personal preference, but I'd appreciate your opinions.

2. Manteur

Manteur Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a great fan of Ratte, a waxy salad maincrop which Marshalls sometimes sells, but often has crop failures.

3. andybike

andybike Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    personally i love the king edward,best,tastiest and most versatile spud there is but can't seem to find any about.

4. Blackthorn

Blackthorn Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Planted Arran Pilot for the first time this year, delicious., will grow them again. Also growing Charlotte but they are not quite ready yet. Will let you know.

5. Blackthorn

Blackthorn Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Grew International Kidney a couple of years back and they were nothing to write home about.

6. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,076