1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. November Photo Comp is now open with a great new theme.! Come and join in.
    Dismiss Notice

Window 10 - New upgrade version 1709

Discussion in 'Computer Corner' started by Gail_68, Dec 30, 2017.

  1. Gail_68

    Gail_68 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I hate this new version 1709 because I had the version 1703 and I find it so annoying:wallbanging:

    With the 1703 it was turn on your PC put your password in and with in seconds the system was up loaded, now it does the total opposite.

    There's no difference hardly in the upgrade, just that there's a few extra apps, oh well I've got to adjust and do a few turns [​IMG]while it up loads and do a [​IMG]
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • shiney

      shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2006
      Messages:
      38,910
      Gender:
      Male
      Occupation:
      Retired - Last Century!!!
      Location:
      Herts/Essex border. Zone 8b
      Ratings:
      +62,207
      My ZX Spectrum loads quickly. :blue thumb:
       
      • Like Like x 3
      • Funny Funny x 1
      • ricky101

        ricky101 Super Gardener

        Joined:
        Jun 15, 2016
        Messages:
        729
        Gender:
        Male
        Location:
        nr Leeds
        Ratings:
        +1,021
        Hi,

        Did not notice any difference in start up speed when I upgraded to 1709; how much longer does yours take to load up fully ?

        Have you got a desktop or laptop and is your C drive a Hard Disc or Solid State Drive ?

        Also just click on Drive C, Properties and see how much free space you have left; the update can take a lot of disc space, until removed.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Gail_68

          Gail_68 Guest

          Ratings:
          +0
          @ricky101 Hi Ricky, the speed timing is the same, it's that i'm used to it loading quick once signed in not before...my laptop is fast mate and it takes about 10-15 seconds to load up.

          It did the windows up date in less than an hour, where some have been taking longer.

          I'll also check on what you've said also about the amount of space:)
           
        • Fat Controller

          Fat Controller Cuddly Scottish Admin! Staff Member

          Joined:
          May 5, 2012
          Messages:
          15,817
          Gender:
          Male
          Occupation:
          Public Transport
          Location:
          At me 'puter, GCHQ Ashford Office, Middlesex
          Ratings:
          +26,035
          If you don't already have it, get CCleaner installed (free version only)

          Run CCleaner to remove temporary files from your system, then go to the startup tab and take a look and see what processes are starting along with Windows (you would be amazed at how many things startup that don't really need to!), and disable any that are not needed.

          Then, go to the registry tab, and scan for issues - repair the issues found (1709 does seem to leave a lot of registry errors behind it, particularly in respect to the .net framework).

          Re-start.

          Then, install Defraggler (again, free version only), and run a defrag; it is vastly superior to the Windows disk defragmenter in my opinion, and although the first run of it can take 24hrs and more, it really is worthwhile (@silu will hopefully vouch for this, as her laptop had the 1709 upgrade and all of the above whilst it was in my care).

          Lastly, if you need help, I am more than willing to guide you along or even remote-in and help you check things over - we can easily set this up by PM/email if you do need help.
           
          • Like Like x 2
          • Agree Agree x 2
          • Friendly Friendly x 1
          • Gail_68

            Gail_68 Guest

            Ratings:
            +0
            @Fat Controller Thanks for the info and i'll look later but at the moment I have no issues regarding it working, I can't get used to it loading up before i'm able to sign in...it's all down to changing with what comes along plus I read that there's many the same as myself who just doesn't like this:)
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • ricky101

              ricky101 Super Gardener

              Joined:
              Jun 15, 2016
              Messages:
              729
              Gender:
              Male
              Location:
              nr Leeds
              Ratings:
              +1,021
              Hi,

              Assume you mean it used to take 10-15 seconds, so how long is it taking to load up since the update ?

              As FC mentions CCleaner is a handy free program to use, though not sure how an update would affect your Start Up programs ?

              How many times have you restarted, wonder if Windows is still doing some background updates, or some of your user programs are doing the same, have you got any really old programs or hardware attached that might have problems with the update ?

              With the speeds you are talking about suspect you have a SSD fitted, so most manufacturers say do not use Defrag, but Optimise/Trim instead.
              Defrag takes several minutes, Trim just several seconds.

              You can use Windows built in disk cleaner , but do check the Clean Up System Files box to remove the old 1703-9 update files etc.

              Did you do a system backup before the Update ?

              000578.jpg

              000579.jpg
               
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • Gail_68

                Gail_68 Guest

                Ratings:
                +0
                @ricky101 Hi mate, It takes the same time to load up before signing in as it did before the update, the only difference with this update is it loads up first before signing in but previous to the update I could switch my laptop on sign in then it would load...I hate changes so it's a thing I've got to adjust to but last night I didn't come on GC as I was doing everything you've stated plus my laptop is backed up also with HP support system and that scans my screen, checks my drives which came in showing healthy...there was no new updates, then I did a deep system scan on the system and that came clear.

                Cheers for you advice and as I stated to Fat Controller, everything is ok and working right but the loading system is just working opposite now and I need to get used to it but he's offered me help if I can't get used to it...thank you for your time Ricky and advice [​IMG] to you Gail :)
                 
                • Friendly Friendly x 2
                • ricky101

                  ricky101 Super Gardener

                  Joined:
                  Jun 15, 2016
                  Messages:
                  729
                  Gender:
                  Male
                  Location:
                  nr Leeds
                  Ratings:
                  +1,021
                  Hi,

                  Suspect you only have the one Admin account ?

                  Can only imagine its something to do with the HP software and how if interacts with 1709 ?
                   
                  • Like Like x 2
                  • Gail_68

                    Gail_68 Guest

                    Ratings:
                    +0
                    @ricky101 Yes just the one admin mate plus the HP software is great on top :)
                     
                    • Like Like x 1
                    • ricky101

                      ricky101 Super Gardener

                      Joined:
                      Jun 15, 2016
                      Messages:
                      729
                      Gender:
                      Male
                      Location:
                      nr Leeds
                      Ratings:
                      +1,021
                      Hi,

                      There might be a work around on HPs forums etc, if its the HP stuff thats causing the problem ?

                      Think I would be tempted to create a new User Account, takes a couple of minutes for the system to set it up. ( no need to actually use it )
                      https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb...l-user-or-administrator-account-in-windows-10

                      How to Create a New Local User Account in Windows 10

                      Then when you boot, before it can load Windows, it has to ask you to select which account you want to open, then for its password.
                      On subsequent boots it should boot up and ask for the password to the last used Account, eg your Admin account, before loading in Windows.

                      You can easily remove the user account if you no longer want/need it.


                      Worth a try ...?
                       
                      • Informative Informative x 2
                      • Like Like x 1
                      • Gail_68

                        Gail_68 Guest

                        Ratings:
                        +0
                        @ricky101 Your advice as been sound mate but regarding new account i'm not going down that route mate but everything you have said is very helpful to me if I can't master it [​IMG]

                        When I did this discussion Ricky it was mainly to see what people thought of this new upgrade besides myself and at the time i didn't think of stating it so I do apologise but other wise you've added great information for any of us who can't tolerate it to much:)

                        Thank you again Gail :cheers:
                         
                      • JWK

                        JWK Gardener

                        Joined:
                        Jun 3, 2008
                        Messages:
                        19,508
                        Gender:
                        Male
                        Location:
                        Surrey
                        Ratings:
                        +19,883
                        I got 1709 and I don't notice any difference from 1703 in terms of start up or usability.
                         
                        • Agree Agree x 1
                        • Informative Informative x 1
                        • Sheal

                          Sheal Total Gardener

                          Joined:
                          Feb 2, 2011
                          Messages:
                          28,322
                          Gender:
                          Female
                          Location:
                          Inverness-shire
                          Ratings:
                          +31,780
                          No problems for me either. :)
                           
                        • Gail_68

                          Gail_68 Guest

                          Ratings:
                          +0
                          @JWK So yours doesn't load before signing in, instead of after...mind you it could be to what pc or laptop we're using John :)
                           

                        Share This Page