Wistiera in containers?

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by Mr zen, Sep 21, 2010.

1. Mr zen

Mr zen Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to have a go at growing a wisteria in a tub and would love any advise you can give me regarding choosing a plant, potting the plant, feeding the plant and pruning the plant.

As you can see I don't ask for much lol. I'm new to gardening and keen to get it right as I'm enjoying learning something new.

2. redstar

redstar Total Gardener

Domestic Goddess
    Chester County, PA, USA, Plant zone 4 & 5
    Ratings:
    +11,493
    Wistera---humm. To my knowlege of it, they usually are hardy and vigorous plants.
    Just make sure the tub has a good drainage situation, gravel on the bottom and then soil. If I was going to go through that trouble, I'd buy the one that has the mose fraqrance and a lower zone than typical because your belly of your tub would be exposed to the climate. As far as pruning, first you need something for it to grow on, it should have no issues to normal pruning as it is a hardy vigorous plant.

Just check on line for the plant good for your area zone.

3. Doghouse Riley

Doghouse Riley Head Gardener

"Pleasantly unemployed."
    Ratings:
    +4,413
    The difficulty in choosing a wisteria in a garden centre at this time of the year is that you don't know whether it will flower or not, unless you can see some long serrated looking thin "spines" which carried the flowers. The best time to buy one to be certain, is in the spring when they are actually in flower.

I prune my wisterias continuously through the summer, removing any side shoots that will not "do anything," so the energy of the plant goes in the direction I want it to go.
    With big wisterias it's a never ending job as they grow unbelievably fast..overnight!