Would someone be so kind to help out a beginner?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by loops, Jul 26, 2009.

1. loops

loops Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys

I am quite new to gardening :cnfs:

We are after planting some kind of thorn bush, or stinging nettles,

Well anything really to put outside the back of our house to make it a little more protected.

Can someone recommend a bush that grows fast and widespread. It would need to be quite hardy as the soil contains alot of clay.

Thank you in advance:thmb:

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Hawthorn is the time-honoured choice. Backthorn is nastier to intruders, but it spreads by underground runners, so you'd end up with it appearing all over your garden.

3. redstar

redstar Total Gardener

Domestic Goddess
    Chester County, PA, USA, Plant zone 4 & 5
    Ratings:
    +11,493
    What do you think of Holly bushes?

4. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    "What do you think of Holly bushes?"

Might be a bit slow growing?

"We are after planting some kind of thorn bush, or stinging nettles,"

stinging nettles will die down in the winter ...

I would favour Berberis, which is nice and prickly :thumb: and evergreen. I reckon the bog standard Berberis darwinii will do

5. loops

loops Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies already! :)

Yes i do like holly bush but there are so many different ones.

I know it probably is a bit late but the reason we wanted something is because in the winter the kids keep sledging into out fence and putting thier feet through it :( so i wanted to put them off :(

6. redstar

redstar Total Gardener

Domestic Goddess
    Chester County, PA, USA, Plant zone 4 & 5
    Ratings:
    +11,493