Year Old Lawn - Straw Coloured Stems

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by drlabman, Jul 12, 2024.

1. drlabman

drlabman Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    We had our new turf laid last summer. I duly watered for 6 weeks, as directed, and it has taken really well. This year it has started looking a bit odd. It's hard to describe but I'll attach photos. In amongst the green grass are lots of straw coloured stems which are very spiky and hard - when I run my hand over the grass these straw bits are noticeably harder than the rest. I can imagine if you were to lie on it, it would be quite uncomfortable. So, my questions are basically, what are these straw bits and what can I do about them. I have a suspicion, but I'm no expert - my suspicion that this is rye grass (the grass that grows tall shoots when seeding?) that has been allowed to grow too long and when it's been cut it's not recovered - so it might be dead? Does that even make sense? I don't really know what the composition of the turf was but it looked good when it was laid.

IMG_1457.jpeg

IMG_1454.jpeg

2. Pete8

Pete8 Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    I'm no lawn expert and can't tell ryegrass from any other sort of grass, but in the absence of any other replies, looking at your photos, it looks like what is known as thatch, which is a layer of partly dead grass in your lawn.
    The usual advice is to scarify the lawn either in Spring or Autumn - i.e. rake out the dead bits using a hand rake, or an electric scarifier which is what I use.
    But thatch usually builds-up over a number of years, so I'm not sure why your lawn seems to have quite a bit of it so soon.
    You may well be right about it being ryegrass, and that's just how it grows, but in all honesty, I don't know
    Hopefully you'll get some other suggestions

• Like Like x 1
    • ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +4,287
      Hi and Welcome to the Forum,