Virtical plants in the poly tunnel

Discussion in 'Poly-Tunnel Gardening' started by KaySee, May 3, 2015.

1. KaySee

KaySee Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I recently retired and decided to start growing my own veg; I'm a really novice gardener, in fact the last time I tried to grow anything was about 50 years ago.

For various reasons I decided that I would put up a small poly-tunnel and build raised beds and use the 'square foot gardening' technique.

So I bought a 6x3 meter galvanised steel framed tunnel and built 3 raised beds, 2', 1' and 2' wide with paths between them along its length, and all seems fine.

But how do you grow vertical plants such as tomatoes, because it is a tunnel the walls curve inwards; so if you grow your climbing veg on the north wall, to allow maximum sun to the rest of the crops, any trellis or strings would be slopping towards the centre of the tunnel; if you was to plant them in the centre, for maximum height, any veg on the north side of the tunnel would be blocked from the light.

Any advice would be helpful.

KaySee

P.S. sorry for the verboseness' and the misspelling in the title.

Last edited: May 3, 2015
  2. WeeTam

WeeTam Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +5,102
    That s the problem with polytunnels. Unless they are 18ft + wide its hard to grow much with height.
    What about growing trailing tomatoes instead ? Take up less room and you can grow things under them.

3. NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
    Ratings:
    +21,484
    In the wild tomatoes are a rambling scrambling plant. We grow it vertically for convenience.
    What you could do is let them grow up as far as the roof and then either follow the curve or just train them along. I have done both in my greenhouse at various times.

4. Steve R

Steve R Soil Furtler

Carer
    Ratings:
    +3,699
    I have edited the photo below to better show the supports I used, it makes the tomatoes look awful, but it's the support I demonstrate.