1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

What Not To Plant

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Blackthorn, Oct 3, 2006.

1. Blackthorn

Blackthorn Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    When I moved to this garden 16 years ago I was a complete gardening novice. Already in the unkempt borders were spanish bluebells and rampions (both introduced as seeds from a valley in Boscastle by my partner who liked them). To make matters worse, and thinking to brighten up things a little I planted MONTBRETIA! Yes, I know, how stupid could you get. The point is though, no-one told me that 16 years later I would still be trying to get rid of them! [​IMG]
    Even now I make daft mistakes. I planted a maclaea, it looked very nice and innocent in a pot in the garden centre, but when it was released from it's pot it immediately dived to 200 ft and then started to spread out. it took me ages to dig out.
    Am I the only one to make these idiotic mistakes (please don't say yes). Rant over, feel better now. [​IMG]

2. Palustris

Palustris Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,986